1. Home
  2. Elected Officials
    1. Assessor
    2. Clerk Auditor
    3. Commissioners
    4. Coroner
    5. Prosecutor
    6. Sheriff
    7. Treasurer
  3. Departments
  4. Contact Us
User Menu Search



UPDATE: Visitation in the jail is currently limited to weekdays (Monday-Friday).


November 23, 2020: All fingerprint services (employment, CWP, etc.) have been temporarily suspended until further notice due to the area increase in Covid cases. 


8-26-2020 - Nez Perce County Sheriff's Office Driver's licensing is back open for business effective today, Wednesday, August 26, by appointment only. To ensure social distancing measures, the number of patrons will be limited, and we ask that appointment holders enter the building unaccompanied by others. Masks are mandatory inside the building. Please call 208-799-3138 between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm to make an appointment. 

Under certain circumstances, online renewals, duplicate or replacement cards, address updates, and driving records are available at ITD.IDAHO.GOV

DOT physicals and address updates can be emailed to ITD Driver's License or faxed to 208-334-8586.

Suspension or reinstatement questions can be answered by calling ITD at 208-334-8736 or 208-334-8000.

Welcome to the Nez Perce County Sheriff's Office

The Nez Perce County Sheriff’s Office is located in northern Idaho. The Sheriff’s Office patrols more than 700 miles of roads and has 850 square miles within its jurisdiction, including two major U.S. Highways. There are eight different towns included within this area; Lewiston, Lapwai, Culdesac, Peck, Leland, Southwick, Cameron, and Lenore. The county is very diverse ranging from urban to rural to wilderness.

Nez Perce County has three major rivers within its jurisdiction; the Salmon, Snake and Clearwater Rivers. The Sheriff's Office has a marine patrol and utilizes three jet boats and personal watercrafts to patrol the rivers. All-terrain vehicles are utilized to patrol the Craig Mountain area 20 miles south of Lewiston.


The Nez Perce Indian Reservation is located just east of the county seat, Lewiston and covers approximately two-thirds of the county.

The Sheriff’s Office currently employs 70 personnel. These personnel consist of patrol deputies, detention deputies, dispatchers, civil and driver’s license clerks, secretaries and a maintenance technician.

Sheriff's Office Annual Reports


    Sheriff's Office Facebook Feed

    Location Map



    Joe Rodriguez


    Office Location
    1150 Wall Street
    Lewiston, ID 83501

    Mailing Address
    1150 Wall Street
    Lewiston, ID 83501

    Contact Us

    Sheriff's Office
    : 208-799-3130
    Fax: 888-727-6814

    Detention Center
    : 208-799-3139
    Fax: 888-715-8307

    Toll Free


    Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2020 by Nez Perce County
    Back To Top