1. Home
  2. Elected Officials
    1. Assessor
    2. Clerk Auditor
    3. Commissioners
    4. Coroner
    5. Prosecutor
    6. Sheriff
    7. Treasurer
  3. Departments
  4. Contact Us
User Menu Search

Victim/Witness Unit

The Victim/Witness Unit provides advocacy, notification, assistance with restitution and referral services to victims and witnesses of crime in Nez Perce County.

If you are a victim or a witness to a crime in Nez Perce County you may desire assistance in navigating the criminal court system. The Nez Perce County Victim-Witness Unit is here to help. The “Unit” consists of two victim-witness coordinators and one victim/witness assistant who work directly with crime victims to increase their participation and satisfaction with the criminal justice process. Some of the services provided are:

  • Providing victims' rights letters
  • Assistance with Crime Victims Compensation Program
  • Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Information
  • Assisting with follow-up photographs of damages and injuries
  • Assistance in obtaining civil protection orders
  • Advocacy during interviews with prosecutor
  • Advocacy during all court proceedings
  • Assistance with reimbursement of witness fees
  • Subpoenas
  • Safety planning
  • Hearing notifications
  • Providing case status information
  • Assistance in preparation of victim impact statements
  • Assistance with no contact orders and no contact order violations

Our goal is to give victims, witnesses and family members a chance to participate fully in the criminal justice process, as outlined in Idaho’s Victim “Bill of Rights” Idaho Code 19-5306.

The Victim/Witness Coordinators can be reached at 208-799-3073.

Victim/Witness Coordinators

Victim/Witness Coordinator - Kayla D. Burke

Victim/Witness Advocate - Joel Mills



Justin Coleman

Email Justin


Office Location
1113 F Street
Lewiston, ID 83501

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 1267
Lewiston, ID 83501

Contact Us

Phone: 208-799-3073

Fax: 888-515-0538

Office Hours
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM


Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2024 by Nez Perce County
Back To Top